Step by Step Linux Guide

Step by Step Linux Guide is a book that is written by M.B.G. Suranga De Silva to provide a single reference for network administration in a Linux environment. Beginners as well as experienced users should find the information they need to cover nearly all important administration activities required to manage a Linux network configuration.


Step by Step Linux Guide, describes the system administration aspects of using Linux. It is intended for people who know nothing about system administration. This book doesn’t tell you how to install Linux since it is very straight forward but it gives you real world mail, DNS, proxy, web, messaging etc… server installations and configurations.

Table of Contents

  • Jabberd
  • Sendmail
  • Qpopper
  • Qmail
  • CourrierIMAP Server
  • Squirrelmail
  • DHCP Server
  • PHP and Mysql
  • PostGRE
  • File Server
  • Squid
  • Squidguard
  • Iptables
  • Freeradius
  • Apache
  • Apache Monitoring Tool (AWTStats)
  • Samba
  • DNS Bind
  • OpenLDAP
  • NoCatAuth
  • Load Balancers
  • Load Sharing
  • Network Monitoring Tool (nagios)
  • Kernal Recompilation
  • Java in Linux
  • Linux commands in brief

Book Details

Author(s): M. B. G. Suranga De Silva
Format(s): PDF
File size: 1.32 MB
Number of pages: 396
Link: Download.

Leave a Reply